Wednesday, September 9, 2009

Silas and I are in Colorado. Amy, Mia and Remy flew down kind of spur-of-the-moment for Amy's birthday. Silas and I drove them back last week. Ashley will fly here on Friday and we will head back to OK on Sunday. I've had a really good time and it's been much easier than last time. Silas is more independent and he minds better (sometimes!). I love watching him learn new things. His speech is still pretty primitive. I can understand more of what he says than anybody, but he seems to leave out or change the second syllable on a lot of words. Amy's dog is named Marlee and he calls her Marmot. He says Mia VERY clearly now. :) He misses Ashley and is calling Chris "dad". He crawls up on the couch and snuggles up to Chris like he does with Ashley at home. It's cute but at the same time, it makes me sad a little. He has started telling me "no" when I tell him to do things. It's not so much fun. When I get on to him or make him do something he doesn't like, he sits down on the floor and screams. It's horrible. I just leave him there until he stops, and sometimes I have to swat him for directly disobeying. Yuck...that's frustrating. He's starting to put thoughts and words together and I think it's fun to know what's going on in his little head. He says "mayamess" when he's dirty, or other people are dirty or he sees something messy at home. My favorite is when he says "da-ee, mayamess" (daddy made a mess). He is associating people with places. He will say "MarMi, house" or "Mia, house". He gets very excited when we pull up to my parents house and shouts "OH NO!!! Mar-ee, Da Da-ee!" He loves to watch fish in tanks and I am hoping to get a small tank for his birthday. He calls fish, peesh. When we pray, he holds his hands up to his forehead, palms out (hands making the sign language "b"), and says "amen" when we finish. When ever we serve food, he holds his hands up and says "pay". Same for when I am rocking him at night. For a little while, he was calling both his pacifer and his dipey, "pai", but this week he has starting saying "paci". He has learned the motions to "River of Life". Some of his favorite things to eat: bananas, green beans, sweet peas, graham crackers, weiners with cheese, bean burritos, cheeseburgers with only the bottom bun, scrambled eggs with cheese, yogurt, spaghetti, and pancakes.
Some things I forgot about when he was little, but remembered recently. When we were putting him down to sleep, he had to have his dipey OVER his face. If we didn't put it there, he would do it in his sleep. He also had a sleepy song. When we would bounce or rock him to sleep, he would make noise to keep himself awake: uh-uh-uh-uh-uh-uh-uh. The first time he laughed out loud was when Ashley rubbed his goatee on the bottom of Silas' feet. His first tooth came in on May 12th, 2008. I gave him his first hair trim, and Marla has done it twice. I am taking him to a salon for his first "boy" hair style before his 2nd birthday party.
Need to stop for now, but will hopefully post again soon...

Saturday, July 25, 2009

Summer is a busy time!

So, I haven't written in a while....

Summer has been a busy time. Unfortunately, not much progress on the inside of the house. We grouted the kitchen floor and tiled the buffet in the kitchen. It looks really nice. I think we've decided to put plank vinyl flooring in the dining room, living room and entry. It's the same stuff they use in hospitals and the like. Durable like laminate, but not so phony sounding. And it's less expensive. :) I'm afraid with kids and big dogs, real wood would be a disaster. I don't want to be afraid to "live" in the house and I want that area to be something other than tile. We tiled the hallway and Silas' bedroom. It's grouted and it looks so good! We still have to seal it though. Grr... And Silas' room is ready to paint, just haven't been able to get it done. :( The yard is looking so good these days! I'm more excited about the front yard than the inside of the house right now. I planted yellow purslane and bright pink periwinkles in the front bed. I've been watering and they look so pretty. I can't wait till we can really landscape the front! I have been relentless about watering the yard. Ashley got a weedeater/edger/blower combo for his birthday and he's been doing a really nice job. The oak trees out front are forming a canopy over the circle drive and I love it!!!! All the crepe myrtles are in full bloom, smelling terrific, and cheering me up. We bought two small red buds and planted them in the front. They're pretty much crap right now, but should come out nicely next spring. We also bought 20 variegated privet and 12 standard nandinas for the back yard. Most of them go along the back fence, but I planted 3 of the nandina on the west side of the patio to shield us from the sun and the ugly part of the back yard. Like the red buds, they aren't looking their best right now, but next spring should be showtime! We got a new a new light fixture for the front porch and Ashley wired flood lights on the east and west corners of the front of the house. FINALLY! Our house has been so scary at night with no lights! After 7 months, it looks like someone lives here! We want to put in recessed lights along the eaves, and then put motion sensors on the floods, but that will be a project for another day (and another dime).

The church behind our house has started construction on their new building. Sadly, they bulldozed most of the trees on the property, but thankfully, they left the big oaks lining our fence. I video taped the dozer pushing over those old trees and I felt like throwing up. The architects told us they are planting new ones and are "doing it right", whatever that means. I hope we aren't disappointed. Ashley asked the church staff what they were doing with the playground equipment and they said trashing it. He asked if we could have it and they said yes, if we could take it apart ourselves. So, he promptly got out there with his tools and disassembled it. When he gets it put back together, we will have an AWESOME swing set, fort, slide, and fireman's pole! Oh yeah, and a basketball goal! What fun! I just wish we had some nice shade trees actually IN our back yard. For "tree lovers", the Maples had the worst kind of trash trees in the back yard. Ugh. Oh well...

Amy, Mia and Remy came down in June. They drove in and stayed a few days, then Silas and I joined them and we travelled to Texas. First, we went to College Station to visit Koby, Irma and Olivia. It was fun to visit and it was the first time we'd seen Olivia. It was hotter than blazes, but other than that we had a good time. Irma is pregnant again and I'm excited for them. I wish I was pregnant too! After the weekend there, we went to Eastland and stayed with Christy for a week. It was nice and we got to see almost everyone. Jodi came down and stayed too and I enjoyed reconnecting with her. We had lunch at Charles and Kathy's with Grandmama, John, Summer, their boys, Melanie, Andrew, Sana, and Sarah. Big crew but it was nice to finally meet ALL the new kids and I had fun talking with John and Summer. We visited ACU for the first time since Honey died (13 years!). I cried a little, but I loved being there. It made me sad that I didn't go there for school, but oh well. I got Silas his first ACU t-shirt. >sniff, sniff< We swam at Fredia's and hung out with Nancy a little. Before we came home, we had lunch out at JoBeth's and James, Amanda, Lexi and Tristan came out. We were late which sucked, but I'm glad we did it. Remy got sick and threw up at JoBeth's and I flipped out a little. She was feeling better soon, but we got kind of a late start coming home. (shocker) I was sad to leave TX, but glad to be back home.

Amy and her girls stayed until July 5th. We went to the Fourth parade with Richard and Colby then Jena joined us for a cook out at our house. It was so nice to be around people!! I feel alive again, finally. I was sad to see Amy go. I miss seeing them every week. I think she's planning on coming back and staying from Silas' birthday to Remy's birthday. Yay!

Cindy from Henderson Hills Christian Learning Center called me back and asked me to work Wednesdays and sub on Thursdays. I have been going since mid June and I really like it. I am torn because and I like just going on Wednesdays. I am hoping she doesn't need me on Tuesdays and Thursdays in the fall. We'll see. I've made some new friends and Silas and I are going to the zoo with new friends Rhianna, Audrey and Landon after "school" on Wednesday. I can't wait! The only downside to going to HH is that Silas got a fever, throwing up, diarrhea virus after going twice. We had to miss a Wednesday and Thursday, but he's better now. It was super yucky while it lasted though.

And finally, Silas! He is such a big boy these days. I am wanting to pull the emergency brake on his growing. We had a well baby visit and he's in the 75% in height and between 50% and 75% in weight. When I see other people holding him, he looks so big! His legs hang over the edge of the changing table if he doesn't have them swinging around over his head.
I'm not especially looking forward to potty training, but I bet that is our next big hurdle. I know people that have little boys nearly 3 years old that are still in diapers. I haven't hated changing diapers, but it's beginning to wear on me. He's hard to wrangle!
For the first week, he called Amy, Mia and Remy, "Memy". It was so cute, but he got Amy, Remy and Mia (I think) down by the time they left. It's sad - sometimes he sees something and starts saying "Amy? Amy?" It's so precious and tiny the way he says it. He thinks Mia is the best. He chases after whatever she is doing and squeals.
He still loves to be outside even when it's like a furnace out there. Not so much fun for mom. Oh yeah, and he's taken to calling me Mom. Not my favorite. He's too little for Mom! At least he's also calling Ashley Dad. But still... His favorite thing is too go outside, turn around, knock on the door, say "hello?", open the door, shout "come in!" and go back inside. Over and over and over and over and over and over... AAAGGGGGGHHHHHHHH! The repetition of things sometimes makes my head spin. He loves to climb things. Ladders, furniture, people...
He is trying to repeat EVERYTHING. You can't really understand most of it, but the inflection of his voice gives it away. Instead of saying, "oh, shoot!" he says, "oh, shoes!" I love it! The air conditioner in my car isn't working and when I put him in the car seat, he whispers "hot, hot". Poor baby. He calls his pacifier "pac", his drink "eat", milk "milp", help "mama hep", shoes "shoes", outside "owsi-ee", Grace "yace", Elmo "ehmo", feet "feet", good food "yum" airplane "a-pane". His phrase for everything is "Oh no!" He uses it in EVERY circumstance and changes the tone and excitement depending on what's happening. If he's doing something he's not supposed to, he usually will repeat to himself over and over, "No, no! No, no!"
He can repeat the animal sounds for dog, cat, lion, duck, bird and cow. He can show you his hair, mouth, teeth, eyes, nose, ears, tummy and feet. He does the motions to "If You're Happy and You Know It" and "This Little Light of Mine". When the "Check Into Cash" commercials come on, he does the motion of making a check mark in the air like they do. He can blow kisses and hold his nose after a toot or burp (not just his either!). He stops what he's doing and dances when he hears music he likes.
He runs everywhere he's going. Sometimes, he's going so fast and light-footed that it looks like his feet aren't touching the ground. Still, he's happy almost all the time and he smiles. He's friendly and wave-y.

Thursday, May 7, 2009

Back to work???

So I might be going back to work. I have mixed feelings about this. My motivation is so that Silas and I will have some interaction with other people. He hasn't had much exposure to other kids and although we have been so blessed with great health, I want him to know how to relate to other children. At the park, he just stands still and silent while watching the other kids. He's all, "What are these? People that are my size???" I am a people person and have kind of been in a funk. I think it's from not spending enough time with others. I have friends that stay home with their kids, but we never get together. I interviewed at the mother's-day-out program at Henderson Hills and I really want to be a part of their program. It would be about 15 hrs/wk and I could make a little extra money which would be nice. I don't think I would be in Silas' class which I am glad and sad about. He's always been with me!! We've started leaving him in the nursery at church and he does fine. So, I think he will like it. They don't have a position available right now, but the director said she likes to talk with people and have options available in the event she needs a replacement in some class. So, we'll see.
<:AtomicElement>
Silas is doing more and more these days. He is so friendly! He says hi and bye to everyone. When we go on walks he waves and says hi to mailboxes, trees, squirrells. Then when we pass, he waves again and tells them bye. It's darling. He's becoming more outspoken and I can see the beginnings of "terrible twos". He throws fits and it's ugly. I just let him roll around on the floor till it's over, then try to deal with him. He loves the "tiger" stuffed animal that my mom gave him. I think it's a leopard actually, but didn't figure that out till he was already named Tiger. Oops. He kisses and hugs Tiger...carries him around. When he has snack, he shares. He takes one bite, then puts the rest up to Tiger's mouth and makes "num num" sounds. Same with his sippy cup. I hope he always stays generous and wants to give to others. He plays so well with his toys. Yesterday, he was just playing and he ran to me yelling MAMA! He kissed me then ran back to the toys. Precious!
<:AtomicElement>
Our yard is a nightmare right now. With all the rain, we haven't been able to mow and it's so embarrassing. The neighbors must think we are such trash. Ugh. Hopefully we'll get a chance this weekend. We have ants so bad in the back - we have GOT to treat them somehow. Silas stood on an antbed and got bit all over his feet. Poor baby.
<:AtomicElement>
The kitchen is coming along. We tiled last weekend and it looks fantastic! We still need to grout, but it already looks so much better than the bare concrete. It won't be long before the kitchen is complete, I hope. The dining room and living room flooring are vexing me. I don't know what to do there. We've considered painting it, but I think that might look bad as it chips off. I did think this weekend about actually painting wood grain on the floor. Man, it would be labor intensive, but it's the least expensive option and it would be better than what's there now. Nothing!
<:AtomicElement>
I slept wrong on my neck last night and it's bugging me today. Yuck.

Friday, April 3, 2009

Today, the weather is finally nice enough to spend some time outside. I sat in the back with Silas for a while before his nap today. He so loves the out of doors. I love that about him. However, it is a pain when it's cold and he still wants to go out anyway. It's sad...he just stands at the back door and cries. He is going to love the summer time, I think. Sometimes, I think it would be fun to dig out the below ground pool that's in our backyard, but we're definitely not getting to that this summer.
Ashley got his first two roofing jobs completed this week and will sign another contract this weekend. Sweet. FINALLY some money coming in. I've tried to be calm about the whole out-of-work-out-of-money thing, but it really has been stressing me out. As soon as those checks start coming in, I can breathe easier.
We need to mow the yard. Ich. Love the big yard, can't imagine push mowing it once a week. Man! Ashley's parents are letting us use their riding lawn mower since they don't do their own mowing anymore. That will be nice, but I don't know where we're going to put it. :( Ashley said we can just leave it outside and drive it up on the back porch if it rains. Um...no. Not going to happen. We have a brand new pad on the patio and I can't even think about stupid black tire tracks all over it.
The kitchen is looking good. Still at a loss on what to do for a door on the cabinet under the sink. I wish I could come up with some crafty solution, but it hasn't happened yet. Hoping to get the cabinets primed and painted this weekend. Don't want to put the old doors back up, but don't want to buy new ones either. So! Old doors, it is. It will be so nice to actually have kitchen stuff in the kitchen instead of the playroom. And it will be nice to have toys in the playroom!
Speaking of the playroom, I am thinking about putting a tv in the fireplace instead of the gas insert. Really, we are not going to have any fires while the room is a playroom, so why not use the space for a tv? I might put a tension rod up with a fun curtain to hide it away when it's not on. Just a thought. Also saw a good idea on HGTV. For the toy box on the south wall, I want to check Renovation Station for old folding closet doors that have inset panels. We can turn them horizontal and they will look like wainscoting on the front of the box. Neato! I might also want to do some kind of padded box cover over the fireplace hearth so that no one busts their head on the rock. Ouch! If I did the back of the toy box in the same fabric, it might look cute. Who knows...
I want to cut my hair off short like a boy. Actually, short like Kate Gosselin. My face is too fat for that right now. I would look like Jaba the Hut if I cut it right now. Speaking of fat, I am coming up with a plan for a new me. I want to stop drinking coke, start walking around the neighborhood with Silas, start having eggs for breakfast instead of cereal, and start eating salad for lunch every day. Surely that will help. I can wear NOTHING in my closet! It's pathetic. Since I have progressively gotten fatter over the last few years, I can wear my old clothes as I get thinner, but I need to get started! Monday sounds good.
I really wanted Silas to have a cute Easter outfit, but don't know if it's going to happen. No deniero = no Easter outfit. (Loud crying)
We need to get involved in some kind of group. Silas needs to spend time with more children and I need to spend time with some adults. I want to fellowship with other moms! I haven't felt this alone since I was a teenager. Yuck. Who wants to feel like that again? There's got to be something available out there.

Friday, March 20, 2009

The House

I am beyond ready for our house renovations to be complete. I know this house will be a work in progress for many years and I'm excited about the prospect of staying here indefinitely, but we have so much material that is just waiting to be used. We have had hours of invaluable help already that I greatly appreciate, but I do hate having to rely on other people to get anything done. I overestimated how much I could accomplish while trying to care for Silas. Oh well...all these projects will eventually come together. My sister is in town this week and we stayed up til 4:30 in the morning getting the master closet in order. She helped me wade through piles of clothes that I have been hanging on to for WAY too long. I still had stuff I wore in high school and stuff I haven't been able to fit in for the last 5-7 years. It was good to finally part ways. Good riddance! Now our closet is organized and beautiful. It feels like a huge accomplishment. What a relief! I still don't know exactly what flooring we are going to use for the living room and dining room. I want it to look great and be ultra durable. I really dislike laminate, but it seems indestructible. I would love real wood, but I want to be able to live in this house without being concerned that kids or dogs are going to tear up the floor. What to do, what to do??? We can't buy any more flooring until we lay the mountain of tile we've already got. I hope that the house is presentable by Silas' birthday in October. I would really love to have his party at our house. The backyard is so awesome and I have grand visions of birthday carnivals!!!

Sunday, March 15, 2009

Time moves so fast.

Silas is trying to become more independent. He is very adventurous and doesn't like to be told no. He appears to have no fear or apprehension. I'm glad for the most part. It makes me sad to see children who are fearful of everything. However, I wish he didn't try to climb our chain link fence at 16 months, but isn't there something about not having your cake and eating it too??? I am trying to learn flexibility and also how to be less fearless in my own life. Control issues. I love being his mom and watching him learn. It is an honor that the Lord has trusted me with His son. I am thankful for every day that I get to spend with him and pray that the Lord gives me patience and long suffering so that I can teach with wisdom and discipline in love. He is trying to speak English more and more everyday. Words that I recognize: bye, bye-bye, mu-ah (kissing), all gone, gone gone, shoes, shh, Mama, Daddy, oh no, no no, baby, woof, meow, bath, go... He baby talks to Grace and all cats, even ones he sees on t.v. He is definitely a Daddy's boy. He would prefer to be with Ashley, Jory and my dad over me, Marla or my mom. He tries to help do projects around the house...he has tried painting walls, screwing screws, texturing, and using a pipe wrench. He will hug me, Ashley and grandparents and will normally kiss family members goodbye when we are leaving. He will do the motions to "If You're Happy and You Know It". He loves when people sing and will dance almost every time he hears music. He loves it! He will even put down what he's holding in his hands so that he can give his full attention to the dance. It's like the dance is trapped inside and he has to work it out. All of his baby teeth have broken through his gums - his top canines are the last to make it in before more molars. He is still very smiley and joyful. He sometimes acts bashful, but is really a big ham. He was in the bathtub today and was showing off for Amy and Remy. Even though it was taking his breath away, he was dunking his face in the water to get a laugh from them. I have never seen a child that likes being outdoors more that Silas. It doesn't matter if it's 20 degrees out, he wants to be out exploring. I am excited for spring and the possibility of playing outside more often. Silas is trying to cut out the morning nap, much to my dismay. He really needs it still, but I have a very hard time getting him down unless he is worn out from playing. Ashley and I are working in the nursery this month at church. We are trying to help him get used to staying there during church service. He's had a bit of difficulty adjusting since we have just now started taking him back and leaving him. We are still blessed with amazing health. He hasn't had to go to the doctor except for well baby visits. He had a cold a few weeks ago, but nothing big. He really hurt his mouth last week and it was the first big scare. He fell on a toy and it cut the skin between his upper lip and his gums. It bled A LOT. I didn't know if we needed to go to the hospital, but I looked online and it is very common. Heals with no help. Yay! It was done bleeding within a few minutes and he was feeling better after a Popsicle and the chance to play outside. He is so beautiful...I love just watching him. I want to hug and kiss him a thousand times a day. Being a mother is everything I thought it would be. This is exactly what I expected and I am loving every minute. I just wish time would slow down so I can be sure to take it all in. I want to appreciate every milestone and cherish the sweetness.

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

So I'm starting a blog. I really want to use it to keep up with Silas; I haven't been good about writing down milestones in his baby book, so I'm hoping I can keep track of them here. There will probably be quite a bit about me and Ashley and our daily trials and triumphs. :) So here goes...