Friday, April 3, 2009

Today, the weather is finally nice enough to spend some time outside. I sat in the back with Silas for a while before his nap today. He so loves the out of doors. I love that about him. However, it is a pain when it's cold and he still wants to go out anyway. It's sad...he just stands at the back door and cries. He is going to love the summer time, I think. Sometimes, I think it would be fun to dig out the below ground pool that's in our backyard, but we're definitely not getting to that this summer.
Ashley got his first two roofing jobs completed this week and will sign another contract this weekend. Sweet. FINALLY some money coming in. I've tried to be calm about the whole out-of-work-out-of-money thing, but it really has been stressing me out. As soon as those checks start coming in, I can breathe easier.
We need to mow the yard. Ich. Love the big yard, can't imagine push mowing it once a week. Man! Ashley's parents are letting us use their riding lawn mower since they don't do their own mowing anymore. That will be nice, but I don't know where we're going to put it. :( Ashley said we can just leave it outside and drive it up on the back porch if it rains. Um...no. Not going to happen. We have a brand new pad on the patio and I can't even think about stupid black tire tracks all over it.
The kitchen is looking good. Still at a loss on what to do for a door on the cabinet under the sink. I wish I could come up with some crafty solution, but it hasn't happened yet. Hoping to get the cabinets primed and painted this weekend. Don't want to put the old doors back up, but don't want to buy new ones either. So! Old doors, it is. It will be so nice to actually have kitchen stuff in the kitchen instead of the playroom. And it will be nice to have toys in the playroom!
Speaking of the playroom, I am thinking about putting a tv in the fireplace instead of the gas insert. Really, we are not going to have any fires while the room is a playroom, so why not use the space for a tv? I might put a tension rod up with a fun curtain to hide it away when it's not on. Just a thought. Also saw a good idea on HGTV. For the toy box on the south wall, I want to check Renovation Station for old folding closet doors that have inset panels. We can turn them horizontal and they will look like wainscoting on the front of the box. Neato! I might also want to do some kind of padded box cover over the fireplace hearth so that no one busts their head on the rock. Ouch! If I did the back of the toy box in the same fabric, it might look cute. Who knows...
I want to cut my hair off short like a boy. Actually, short like Kate Gosselin. My face is too fat for that right now. I would look like Jaba the Hut if I cut it right now. Speaking of fat, I am coming up with a plan for a new me. I want to stop drinking coke, start walking around the neighborhood with Silas, start having eggs for breakfast instead of cereal, and start eating salad for lunch every day. Surely that will help. I can wear NOTHING in my closet! It's pathetic. Since I have progressively gotten fatter over the last few years, I can wear my old clothes as I get thinner, but I need to get started! Monday sounds good.
I really wanted Silas to have a cute Easter outfit, but don't know if it's going to happen. No deniero = no Easter outfit. (Loud crying)
We need to get involved in some kind of group. Silas needs to spend time with more children and I need to spend time with some adults. I want to fellowship with other moms! I haven't felt this alone since I was a teenager. Yuck. Who wants to feel like that again? There's got to be something available out there.