So I might be going back to work. I have mixed feelings about this. My motivation is so that Silas and I will have some interaction with other people. He hasn't had much exposure to other kids and although we have been so blessed with great health, I want him to know how to relate to other children. At the park, he just stands still and silent while watching the other kids. He's all, "What are these? People that are my size???" I am a people person and have kind of been in a funk. I think it's from not spending enough time with others. I have friends that stay home with their kids, but we never get together. I interviewed at the mother's-day-out program at Henderson Hills and I really want to be a part of their program. It would be about 15 hrs/wk and I could make a little extra money which would be nice. I don't think I would be in Silas' class which I am glad and sad about. He's always been with me!! We've started leaving him in the nursery at church and he does fine. So, I think he will like it. They don't have a position available right now, but the director said she likes to talk with people and have options available in the event she needs a replacement in some class. So, we'll see.
<:AtomicElement>
Silas is doing more and more these days. He is so friendly! He says hi and bye to everyone. When we go on walks he waves and says hi to mailboxes, trees, squirrells. Then when we pass, he waves again and tells them bye. It's darling. He's becoming more outspoken and I can see the beginnings of "terrible twos". He throws fits and it's ugly. I just let him roll around on the floor till it's over, then try to deal with him. He loves the "tiger" stuffed animal that my mom gave him. I think it's a leopard actually, but didn't figure that out till he was already named Tiger. Oops. He kisses and hugs Tiger...carries him around. When he has snack, he shares. He takes one bite, then puts the rest up to Tiger's mouth and makes "num num" sounds. Same with his sippy cup. I hope he always stays generous and wants to give to others. He plays so well with his toys. Yesterday, he was just playing and he ran to me yelling MAMA! He kissed me then ran back to the toys. Precious!
<:AtomicElement>
Our yard is a nightmare right now. With all the rain, we haven't been able to mow and it's so embarrassing. The neighbors must think we are such trash. Ugh. Hopefully we'll get a chance this weekend. We have ants so bad in the back - we have GOT to treat them somehow. Silas stood on an antbed and got bit all over his feet. Poor baby.
<:AtomicElement>
The kitchen is coming along. We tiled last weekend and it looks fantastic! We still need to grout, but it already looks so much better than the bare concrete. It won't be long before the kitchen is complete, I hope. The dining room and living room flooring are vexing me. I don't know what to do there. We've considered painting it, but I think that might look bad as it chips off. I did think this weekend about actually painting wood grain on the floor. Man, it would be labor intensive, but it's the least expensive option and it would be better than what's there now. Nothing!
<:AtomicElement>
I slept wrong on my neck last night and it's bugging me today. Yuck.